Accessibility mode is enabled

Skip to Top / Tab to View Menu Options
Skip to Left Navigation / Tab to View Content

City Government

Sacramento New City Hall

Founded in 1849, the City of Sacramento is the oldest incorporated city in California. In 1920, Sacramento city voters adopted a City Charter (municipal constitution) and a City Council form of government, which is still being used today.

The City Council consists of a Mayor, elected by all City voters, and eight Council members, elected to represent separate districts in the City. Each Council member is required to live in the district they represent. The Mayor and Council members serve four-year terms. Elections are staggered.

The Council establishes city policies, ordinances and land uses; approves the City’s annual budget, contracts, and agreements; hears appeals of decisions made by city staff or citizen advisory groups, and appoints four Council Officers: a City Manager, City Attorney, City Treasurer, and City Clerk. Council members serve on several working committees, which include Transportation and Community Development, Law and Legislation, and Personnel and Public Employees. The Mayor and Council members receive an annual salary and benefits. Read more about the City's Legislative Bodies.

City Hall

Sacramento City Hall
915 I Street
Sacramento, CA 95814

Call 311 for information in City limits.
Call (916) 264-5011 outside the City.
Other ways to contact the City.