Accessibility mode is enabled

Skip to Top / Tab to View Menu Options
Skip to Left Navigation / Tab to View Content

former Fire Chiefs

Former Fire Chief Walt W. White was sworn in as Fire Chief in July 2014. He retired in March 2018.

seven fire chiefs

In early 2012, the current and six former Fire Chiefs of the Sacramento Fire Department came together for an historic photo opportunity. This photograph commemorates the greatest number of Sacramento Fire Chiefs ever assembled together for a photo. Together their tenures spanned forty years!

Pictured left to right: (Top row) Gary Costamagna (1988-1999), Dennis Smith (1999-2004), Julius Cherry (2004-2006), Forrest Adams (2006-2008), (Bottom row) William R. Powell (1973-1986), Ray S. Jones (2008-2013), Ray Charles (1986-1988).