Accessibility mode is enabled

Skip to Top / Tab to View Menu Options
Skip to Left Navigation / Tab to View Content

Celebrate “916 Day” at a Park Near You

916 day picture. With tree as 1 in 916.

On September 13, the Sacramento City Council will declare September 16, 2022 as “916 Day.”

This city proclamation is spearheaded by the City of Sacramento Parks and Community Enrichment Commission to urge all Sacramentens to celebrate city parks as the cornerstone of our 916 Community.

Park Commissioners will host a series of beautification and service events across the City to promote volunteerism and partnerships at parks and green spaces to highlight how parks create a healthy, strong, and thriving community. The Parks Commissioners aim to recruit and bring together 916 volunteers across these events and enact “916 Day” events every year.

Get involved at an event in your district! Please register to volunteer for location(s). A follow-up email will be sent with additional information on the location(s) you've chosen to volunteer. Thank you for helping to keep Sacramento beautiful.

District 1 Park Cleanup: Sept. 17 at 10 a.m. at North Natomas Regional Park
District 2 Tree Planting: Sept. 17 at 9 a.m. at Triangle Park
District 3 916 Week of Service Closing: Oct. 8 at 9 a.m. at McKinley Park
District 4 Tree Planting and Painting: Sept. 17 at 9 a.m. at John Muir Park
District 5 Tree Planting: Sept. 16 at 8 a.m. at Argonaut Park
District 6 Tree Planting: Sept. 17 at 9 a.m. at George Sim Community Center
District 7 916 Day Celebration and Tree Planting: Sept. 16 at 4 p.m. at Garcia Bend Park, program to follow at 6 p.m.
District 8 916 Week of Service Kickoff and Tree Planting: Sept. 10 at 9 a.m. at Levar Burton Park

Register Here

Tools and supplies will be provided but supplies may be limited. Volunteers who have their own gloves and pickers are encouraged to bring them. Please contact the district commissioner for questions about the specific events


Rita Gallardo Good

Council District 1 

Sumiti Mehta

Council District 2

Gordon Lew

Council District 3

David Guerrero

Council District 4

Louis Hermann

Council District 5

Joe Flores

Council District 6

Victoria Vasquez

Council District 7

Devin Lavelle

Council District 8

Jeanine Gaines


Terri Kletzman


Nicole Kangas


Samuel Makarcyzk