Accessibility mode is enabled

Skip to Top / Tab to View Menu Options
Skip to Left Navigation / Tab to View Content

Megan's Law

If you are concerned that someone is a child molester or sex offender, you can visit the California Department of Justice's Megan's Law website. This site includes a link to the state’s sex offender registry and important information about how to protect your family, statistics, and information for victims. The California Department of Justice provides access to information on persons required to register in California as sex offenders. It includes home addresses of offenders in California and listings by zip code, city, and county.

California Department of Justice Sex Offender Tracking Program
P.O. Box 903387
Sacramento, CA 94203-3870
(916) 227-4974

Legal and Illegal Uses of Information

The information on the sex offender registry is made available solely to protect the public. Anyone who uses this information to commit a crime or to harass an offender or his/her family is subject to criminal prosecution and civil liability. Any person who is required to register pursuant to Penal Code section 290 who enters this website is punishable by a fine not exceeding $1,000, imprisonment in a county jail not exceeding six months, or by both the fine and imprisonment. (Pen. Code, § 290.46, subd. (k).)

Who can call?

Anyone who believes that a child may be at risk for any reason including parents, organizations, and groups or businesses with employees who interact with children. You must be 18 years of age or older; be willing to identify yourself; and have reasonable suspicion that a child is at risk.

What information must I provide?

Be prepared to provide the person's name, his/her address, birthdate, social security number and California driver license number. If you do not have the above information you need to provide the person's name and at least five of the following identifiers: height, weight, hair color, eye color, ethnicity/race and/or description of scars, tattoos, or birthmarks.

Concerned about a sex offender?

If you have information about a registered sex offender in the Sacramento area who may be in violation of his or her registration requirements, please contact the Sexual Assault Felony Enforcement (S.A.F.E.) Team at (916) 874-5090. For full information, visit the S.A.F.E. website.

Additional resources

• View community presentation
• View the online registry
• Register for updates