Accessibility mode is enabled

Skip to Top / Tab to View Menu Options
Skip to Left Navigation / Tab to View Content

citation payment plans

Payment plans for parking citations are available based on qualifying conditions. The City of Sacramento processes citation payments for the following agencies:  

  • City of Sacramento Parking Division
  • Sacramento Police Department
  • Department of Justice (DOJ)
  • Sacramento City Unified School District (SCUSD)
  • Sacramento County
  • California Highway Patrol (CHP)
  • Sacramento Regional Transit District (SRTD)
  • Sacramento Metro Fire

 PAYMENT   PLAN OPTIONS  

based on financial hardship

standard payment plans

customer service

RESPONSE TO COVID-19

Pursuant to the State of California Governor's Orders, the Revenue Customer Service Counter is closed for in-person service until further notice. Please call the Revenue Division at 916-808-8500 during phone hours or contact the office by email to apply or inquire about payment plan options. 

 

Governor's Proposal to Eliminate Past Due Traffic and Non-Traffic Citation Fines

On May 14, 2021, Governor Newsom introduced the annual "May Revision", which is a revision to the State Budget Report. The May Revision is submitted every May 14th by the Governor as part of the State of California Budget Process. This summary included a proposal to eliminate fines associated with past due traffic and non-traffic citations issued from January 1, 2015 - June 30, 2021. Until the Budget Report is approved and signed by the Governor, any proposals contained in the report are not approved for implementation. For questions or concerns about the Budget Report, please contact your California Representative. 

Learn more about the State of California's Budget Process

View the May 14, 2021 Budget Summary (May Revision)

Search for your California Representative

PAYMENT PLANS based on financial hardship

Payment plans for individuals qualifying as indigent persons under GOV 68632 are available and are subject to program eligibility requirements pursuant California Vehicle Code 40220 and California Vehicle Code 40220.5

APPLICATION PROCESS

*Please view COVID-19 message above. 

Phone line for inquiries or to apply: 916-808-8500 (Monday - Friday, Revenue Phone Hours)

Citations Issued On or After July 1, 2018 

Citations Issued Before July 1, 2018

Application must be submitted within 120 calendar days of citation issue date or

10 calendar days after Administrative Hearing (whichever is later)

May be submitted at any time, however this option expires January 1, 2027

REQUIREMENTS:

  • Total citation fines and fees owed must be less than $500
  • Documentation evidencing receipt of any services under GOV 68632 or income that is 125% or less than current poverty guidelines must be submitted upon application (Examples of Acceptable Forms of Proof and Income Guidelines)
  • Payment of a $5 processing fee (may be included in payment plan upon request)
  • California State Surcharge of $12.50 per citation will be included in payment plan and cannot be waived
  • Default on monthly payments may result in DMV vehicle registration hold (One-time exemption if payment is submitted within 45 days of default)
  • Citations enrolled into this payment plan will be ineligible for further Administrative Hearings or appeals. 
  • If participant's status as either Low Income and/or as the recipient of Public Benefits is found to have been willfully fraudulent, the reduction or removal of any late fees, penalties or DMV registration holds will be re-instated and the full amount of any fines and fees will be restored.

     

BENEFITS

  • Monthly payments will not exceed $25 per month
  • No prepayment penalty 
  • Up to 24 months to pay off, interest free
  • Removal of existing DMV registration holds (as long as monthly payments are timely)
  • Waiver of all parking citation late fees and penalty assessments accrued by the time of application
  • Payment plan will include only the base citation fine amount and CA State Surcharge of $12.50 per citation
  • Multiple parking citations may be paid for under one payment plan if total fines and fees do not exceed $500

standard PAYMENT PLANS (NOT BASED ON FINANCIAL HARDSHIP)

Individuals whom do not qualify for a payment plan based on indigent status may apply for the standard payment plan upon payment of a $25 processing fee. Standard payment plans have a 12-month payoff period. Late fees and penalties are not waived under the standard payment plan. Vehicle owners with immobilization devices (boots) on their vehicles may qualify for a payment plan to release the device. Please call (916) 808-8500 (phone hours) or email request to apply.